New Artwork: I dreamed the moon as a timeless clock

 

I_dreamed_of_the_moon_as_a_timeless_clock

Close up detail:
I_dreamed_of_the_moon_as_a_timeless_clock_2

I_dreamed_of_the_moon_as_a_timeless_clock_3

I_dreamed_of_the_moon_as_a_timeless_clock_4

I_dreamed_of_the_moon_as_a_timeless_clock_5

 

I dreamed of the moon as a timeless clock, acrylic ink, acrylic paint, ink pen, ink stamp, collage on card, 12 x 21cm

My penultimate piece in my Loqui series. I think this one really reflects many of the techniques I have been trying out recently.

I wanted to have a lot of imagery in this piece but also for it to not look overcrowded. I did plan the composition of this one quite precisely.

The poem:

I dreamed of the moon as a timeless clock


As if it slipped off its face

into the ocean

of the night.

Not an utter tick,

just the soft silver-blue

of the waves in its light.

Faceless but infamous,

as anonymous

as the stars we laid under and named by numbers.

 

A distant whisper of hands

as mute as swan.

Nerves bound

in the muffling pillows

fed to the warm sheets

of the waterless sand.

I saw a gull glide, dreamless.

A slide along the air.

No qualms,

no ties

just the slow

exhale

of horizon

under its wing.

________________

The author on Tumblr

Purchase Loqui here

See my other artworks in this series here.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Artwork, Illustration, Loqui Project, Sketches and Misc. Artwork

Leave a Reply

