New Artwork: Cove

DSC_1704

Close ups of ink and texture:

DSC_1704_2

DSC_1704_3

DSC_1704_4

DSC_1704_5

Cove, 17 x11.5cm, acrylic paint, pen and ink on card

My fourth artwork based on one of the poems in Loqui by Greg Webster that I bought a few months ago.

The first layer of ink started off way more figurative but developed into something a little bit more abstract. I’m quite happy with the development as after the first few layers I wasn’t sure whether I should just throw away the idea and start again. I’m quite happy that I persevered with this piece.

Again with this piece, hopefully you can see my inspiration tangled within the words of the poem:

Cove

Where the black rock is silvered with moon spittle

violins of night cries squeal knife fights

and my own baritones, guttural roars

are the bowed strings of longing,

the song from the hulls of ships gone .

Come in to my cove, wild seas.

I cannot promise halos

but with black wings

I can draw a shadow

where there used to be.

And when the tears are torn from the skies

burrow down into the crook, the cradle of the bay

And I will set us in stone,

if only you stay.

________________

The author on Tumblr

Purchase Loqui here

See my other artworks in this series here.

The author on Tumblr

Purchase Loqui here

See my other artworks in this series here.

2 Comments

Filed under Artwork, Illustration, Loqui Project, Sketches and Misc. Artwork

2 responses to “New Artwork: Cove

  1. This is very beautiful.

Leave a Reply

