Artwork: Hearts a Mess

DSC_1099

DSC_1098

DSC_1097

DSC_1096

DSC_1095

****I actually finished and posted about this on Tumblr at the end of January, but only just realised I hadn’t posted it on here for some reason.****

Hearts A Mess, ink, pen, black thread, cardboard, on paper, 26 x19 cm

The majority of inspiration for the piece came from the first few lines and the title of the song itself.

Pick apart the pieces of your heart

And let me peer inside.

I wanted to show a heart (anatomical, obviously) pulled/ picked apart on the paper. The heart is drawn with an fine-line ink pen and white acrylic ink. The image that I used as reference is from The Graphics Fairy -a great resource for out of copyright and vintage imagery. The thread, keeping the pieces of the heart together, I wanted to be reminiscent of muscles/ strands/ seams that would be pulled to the limit. The viewer can also ‘peer’ in between the gaps created by the crossed threads to the base ink below.

I kept a red and blue theme (keeping in tie with the medial illustration idea) with the ink. As I was using water to transport the ink around the paper, they mixed together and created a deep red, almost purple colour that I liked. I broke up some of the colour with white ink, for aesthetic composition but also so more of the black thread could been seen when placed over the top.

I have a few of the cardboard frames used in this image, I thought this would be great to represent a ‘frame of mind’ (a little literal, but I like it). I drew out a figure silhouette with reference to a stock pose from SenshiStock (another great resource for poses and reference imagery). I felt that keeping the figure ambiguous fit in well with the overall aesthetic and intention of the artwork. I originally thought about using two figures in the piece but after some test sketches I felt that it would create superflous narrative. I continued using the thread as a connector and wrapped it around the figure, connecting it to both the ‘mind’ and the heart but also showing that they both confine the figure at the same time.

Link to the song (and official video) on Youtube.

Next Song is Coming Back which has a lot more narrative than the ones before it, it may take a bit more planning than the others so far.

Leave a comment

Filed under Artwork, Gotye Project

Leave a Reply

