New Artwork: Mriya

Antonov_AN255

Mriya, Ink on 250gsm paper, 12.5cm x 9cm

I’ve found myself watching lots of Youtube videos showing the Antonov An-225 recently. I originally found out about this plane whilst studying for my Masters last year; I was researching a lot of Russian plane disasters at one point and watching a lot of recorded footage on Youtube and other video sites. There always seemed to be links somewhere to videos of of the An-225 landing, taking off and being loaded at various airports.

I always watched with fascination and researched into the aircraft a little bit but never really bought it into my artwork as its history never really matched my work at the time. I’ve revisited it lately and thought that it would an interesting continuation of my plane related artwork to start with some deconstructions of this beautiful, Ukrainian beast.

I’ve been pushed for time recently (hence the very little posting) but I managed to produce this small, kind of rough, ink piece in relation to the An-225. Hopefully this is the first of many works in a series of artworks in relation to cargo aircraft. I love commercial passenger planes but cargo transportation also has my interest in terms of aesthetics and engineering. I’m always intrigued how passenger aircraft are modified to transport all sorts of cargo across the world.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Artwork, Sketches and Misc. Artwork

Leave a Reply

