New Artwork

This work accompanies the artwork in my previous post- Bouncing to a halt in the lake. This a smaller work from my study of the same crash, I used the smaller scale to experiment with text transferring methods used in the larger work but it is also a work in its own right. The work is at this time untitled but I will choose a phrase from the text report for titling.

The images show the stages of the artwork, unfortunately the first image is blurred and but is the only image I have of the ink on its own. The test that is transferred is summary report text that I  digitally applied to the defined outline of the plane.

Click the thumbnails for larger images.

The plane has the same form as the previously posted work but from viewed from a different (rear) viewpoint.

I used ink and water to create an abstract colour background for the plane to exist in, the colours used are drawn from the crash scene itself. I have included some close up images of the background to try and demonstrate the texture created with the ink and water.

After the image transfer of the text I painted over with white acrylic to build back up the plane form and originally intended to leave it like this to complete the work. After leaving the work and then coming back to it however, I decided to outline the form with black acrylic ink. In my research I have been looking at the idea of the spectacle and how that is reinforced in both the mass media and artwork. One of the elements of the spectacle is the changed or the forced context and the removal of the event/ scene from the viewer, I felt that the addition of the black outline both slightly removed the plane from it’s background ‘scene’ and the real instance of the crash itself.

(Due to this I used the outline in the next few artworks I made, however including an outline in two larger artworks I decided that it works better on the smaller works.)

The work is ink, acrylic paint and printed text on paper, it is approximately 59.4 x 42.0 cm.

Leave a comment

Filed under Artwork, Artwork In Progress, MA Fine Art

Leave a Reply

