Artwork In Progress

This is the latest artwork I have started working on. For the next few pieces (since I work in series of artworks) I will be looking at the 2008 crash of a cargo 747 operating under Centurion Air Cargo in Columbia.

This is a link to aviationsafety.net where a summary report of the crash can be found, along with images. Short narrative of the crash:

Boeing 747 N714CK, operated by Kalitta Airlines as a wet lease to Centurion Airlines, took off from Bogota (BOG), carrying a cargo of flowers to Miami (MIA).
Reports say the crew radioed that they had an engine fire. The airplane impacted a farm field, broke up and caught fire. A farm was demolished in the crash, killing two people inside.
Night visual meteorological conditions prevailed during the accident, with a reported cloud ceiling of 1,700 above the ground and calm winds.

Stages of artwork so far:

I may want to add some more fragmented text of the report into the image although I’m not sure where it would be effective. I think I’ll need to carry on with acrylic and work into the image of the cockpit more. I’m also thinking of adding a hint of the broken off engine in the background.

I’m not back in the studio until the 16th April so I’ll be working on smaller plane studies, sketches and sketchbook work to plan for larger works when I get back.

Leave a comment

Filed under Artwork, MA Fine Art

Leave a Reply

