MA Fine Art

So we’re actually getting into the course now, it technically started in late October but there were a lot of admin issues and then trouble with the studios. We still can’t stick anything up on the walls yet but hopefully in a few weeks the huge room should be partitioned and we can each have our own spaces to do with as we wish.

My research and work has progressed after my BA, mainly due to my continuation of reading about the Sublime over the summer break. My interests are now fully within the terror, disaster and technological sublime. Specifically at the moment aviation and air disasters. I have also read up on nuclear disasters and the nuclear sublime and I imagine this will surface in my work at some point.

I’m still working through a lot of research on this topic and still experimenting with aesthetic, media and composition to portray what I want effectively to the viewer. I have many databases on air crashes online bookmarked and my evenings are spent reading about these disasters in detail along with accompanying photographs of the crash scene.

I guess it’s good that I have a phobia of flying anyway, I don’t plan on flying any time soon.

I really can’t wait to get back to working on large scale paper and fully get into the course. There are a lot of open exhibitions coming up too, mainly in London- I better start making work ready all of these. If you don’t enter, you don’t get better, right?

 

Link to two of the sites I look at if anyone is interested:

http://www.1001crash.com/index-page-accueil-lg-2.html

http://aviation-safety.net

 

Leave a comment

Filed under MA Fine Art, Musings

Leave a Reply

